DIFC Governor hosts ASEAN Finance Ministers

His Excellency Dr. Omar Bin Sulaiman, Governor of the Dubai International Financial Centre (DIFC), yesterday (7th October) hosted a reception to welcome influential delegates from member countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), who are in Dubai for the fifth annual ASEAN Finance Ministers Investor Seminar.

Speaking at the reception, HE Dr Omar Bin Sulaiman said: "As the UAE economy continues to experience rapid growth and expansion, Dubai is committed to forging and developing strong economic and investment relations with all of the world's major business hubs. The ASEAN Finance Ministers Investor Seminar offers a unique platform for representatives from the Gulf region and Southeast Asia to network and explore the extensive business opportunities that exist in these fast growing regions."

"Hosting this prestigious seminar for the very first time in Dubai reflects the importance of the Emirate as a major global hub for business and finance". he added.

Following a welcoming address from HE Dr. Omar Bin Sulaiman, delegates at the reception were given a brief presentation on the history of the DIFC by Abdulla Al Awar, Managing Director of the DIFC Authority.

This ASEAN Finance Ministers Investor Seminar, being held for the first time in Dubai at the Raffles hotel, was entitled "Dynamic Asean: Dependable Partners for Sustaining Growth", and offered access to policy makers from member countries of ASEAN, which include Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Cambodia, Myanmar and Lao PDR.

Ministers present at the reception included Dr. Sri Mulyani Indrawati Minister of Finance - Indonesia; H.E. Mr. Kong Vibol First Secretary of State - Cambodia; Suparat Kawatkul Permanent Secretary for Finance - Thailand; H.E Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop Minister of Finance II - Malaysia; His Excellency Dato Paduka Haji Ali Bin Apong, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance - Government of Brunei Darussalam; Tharman Shanmugaratnam Minister for Finance - Republic of Singapore; Somdy Douangdy Minister of Finance - Lao People's Democratic Republic; Ninh Vu Van Minister of Finance - Socialist Republic of Vietnam and Margarito B. Teves Secretary of Finance - Republic of the Philippines. Key representatives from the DIFC were also present at the event.

For better web experience, please use the website in portrait mode