• Stay up-to-date with DIFC’s response to Covid-19
  • Read more
  • DIFC Open Finance Week
  • 27 Sep 2022 - 28 Sep 2022, 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • View Event

Governor of the DIFC Hosts Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of China

His Excellency Dr Omar Bin Sulaiman, Governor of the Dubai International Financial Centre (DIFC) today welcomed The Honourable Sir Donald Tsang, Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of China, along with a 24 member delegation from Hong Kong. The visit to Dubai aims to further strengthen political and economic ties between the two financial hubs.

Nasser Al Shaali, Chief Executive Officer of the DIFC Authority said: "It is with great pleasure that we welcome our friends from Hong Kong to the DIFC. As a new global financial centre, we admire the achievements of Hong Kong in having established itself as an internationally recognised business hub. We look forward to developing and fortifying our relationship with the city, and we hope to learn from their example and be able to compare our regional accomplishments with their success in Asia, and indeed the world over."

The Honourable Sir Donald Tsang has been the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSARG) of the People's Republic of China since 21 June 2005. He was re-elected on 25 March 2007 as the third-term Chief Executive, and was formally appointed by the Central People's Government on 2 April 2007. Prior to this, he has held various positions within the HKSARG including Chief Secretary for Administration and Financial Secretary.

Other members of the delegation include: The Hon. Ronald Arculli; Choi Yiu-Kwan; Lau Ying-pan Edmond; Eddy C. Fong; Dr. Au King-Lun; The Hon. Laura Cha; David Eldon; He Guangbei; Ho Tsu Kwok Charles; Ho Kent Ching Tak; Lester G. Huang; Hung Pi Cheng Benjamin; Frank Kwong; Christopher Lee; Kenny Lee; Dr. The Hon. David K. P. Li; Brian Li Man Bun; Sukyi Yau; Raymond Chan Yuk Ming; Ming Wai Lau; Dr. Lu Yuen Cheung Ronald; Alexander Lui Yiu Wah; Robert Ng; and Dr. Paul Y.L. Tong.

For better web experience, please use the website in portrait mode